Still in Love

It’s been almost a year since I got the post card bug, and I still feel like I’ve just begun. Ideas flow into my brain before I go to sleep. I dream ideas. “Palimpsest,” below, came out of a dream of creating “decorated shorthand.” I’m interested in the different ways people communicate, which can be kinds of code. For some it’s a foreign language, or American sign language, or math; for others, literal computer coding language; for me it’s body language, music symbols, Gregg shorthand–learned in high school, still remembered and still useful! Who knew it could also be art?

Palimpsest (marker, stickers on vellum) "Decorated shorthand," and playing with overlaid images on vellum.

Palimpsest (marker, stickers on vellum) “Decorated shorthand,” playing with overlaid images on vellum.

 

Cheer Up (water color, water color pencils) Playing with transparency

Cheer Up (water color, water color pencils) Playing with transparency

Make a Wish (collage). The central image came from a birthday card received last year, so I sent this back to the sender.

Make a Wish (collage). The central image came from a birthday card received last year, so I sent this back to the sender.

I Don't Want to Set the World on Fi-yer

I Don’t Want to Set the World on Fi-yer (water color, water color pencils), after a writing workshop about setting your words on fire. My mother used to talk about my brother singing the song when he was little, and I had heard it several times recently. So it honors both the writing teacher and my late brother. I sent it to the teacher.

Spring Will Come (collage). To reassure friends after a dreary winter.

Spring Will Come (collage). To reassure friends after a dreary winter.

Shine Bright Dream Big (mixed media collage--coffee filter, watercolor gel crayons, washi tape, various papers)

Shine Bright Dream Big (mixed media collage–coffee filter, watercolor gel crayons, washi tape, various papers)

Haven’t done many exchanges lately, but below is another card received from Honi in New York. She really goes all out with envelopes, something I have yet to get into.

Orange is the Happiest Color, by Honi. Love the envelope, too!

Orange is the Happiest Color, by Honi. Love the envelope, too!

Email me your mailing address to jillybeanswiggins@gmail.com if you’d like to receive a card. International addresses welcome.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

