My First Postcard Swap

Thanks to a tip from Nat’s Smallest Forest blog, which led me to Hanna Andersson’s postcard swap, April was my month to get into mail art. The batch for the swap went into the mail yesterday, so I’m sharing the images  for my first Jillybeans post. My other blog will be primarily a writing/poetry site (although I will still include images, in keeping with its title). This one will showcase art, which will be mostly small postcard-size pieces for the time being. I find I love the format and the various media (especially watercolor and the brilliant, fun colors of markers), so my friends can be looking for little surprises in their mailboxes.

Sorry the “About” section isn’t caught up yet. I’m running out of time and will update both blogs next week.

Creation, markers

Creation, markers

Baggage, manipulated photo of original acrylic painting, original poem

Baggage, manipulated photo of original acrylic painting, original poem

Color grid, markers

Color grid, markers

Follow the dots, markers

Follow the dots, markers

e.e. cummings quote, computer type, watercolor

e.e. cummings quote, computer type, watercolor and watercolor pencils

Wild and Precious, Mary Oliver quote, manipulated photo of original acrylic painting

Wild and Precious, Mary Oliver quote, manipulated photo of original acrylic painting

Blues on the Green, watercolor

Blues on the Green, watercolor

Jellies, watercolor

Jellies, watercolor and watercolor pencils

 

e.e. cummings quote, hand-lettering, water color pencil and marker

e.e. cummings quote, hand-lettering, water color pencil and marker

Word cloud, computer type, markers

Word cloud, computer type, markers

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “My First Postcard Swap”

  1. iHanna says :

    A new blog and a first postcard swap – congratulations to you! Thanks for joining and sharing your postcards with us. I hope you will join again in the future!

    • wigginswordsandimages says :

      Hanna, Thank you so much for this opportunity! You may find this hard to believe, but it has literally changed my life–a perfect confluence of timing while I was searching for a new art outlet. I find the small format (with deadlines) and the fact that it’s somewhat ephemeral, in the sense that you never see the original again, fits into my artistic sensibility right now. I have been so excited working on this project that I sometimes let other routines go. Art should come first, right? Thank you again.

  2. lunardaughter says :

    Love the cards, and happy first post on your new blog.

  3. lisa says :

    These are fantastic.loving the colours .Im in this swap too and can not wait to see what I receive in mail. hugs x

  4. Deezy says :

    Wauw, are these different cards that you have made? Verry nice!

Leave a Reply

